My top 15 Grey’s Anatomy Quotes

Yesterday I was trying to convince a friend who is uninitiated to Grey’s Anatomy to start watching and this inspired my to put together a list of my favorite Grey’s Anatomy Quotes. So here goes in no particular order:

1. What is Grey’s Anatomy without the famous monologues peppered with words of wisdom and life lessons 🙂

“We have to make our own mistakes. We have to learn our own lessons. We have to sweep today’s possibility under tomorrow’s rug, until we can’t anymore, until we finally understand for ourselves, what Benjamin Franklin meant:That knowing, is better than wondering. That waking, is better than sleeping. And that even the biggest failure, even the worst, most intractable mistake, beats the hell out of never trying.”

2. Are you a McDreamy or a McSteamy fan? Well I am a the latter so you can imagine how many pieces my heart broke into when the unfairly sexy Dr. Sloan passed. His love for Lexie Grey makes me go all wobbly in my knees. *sigh*

“I want you to promise me something. If you love someone, you tell them. Even if you’re scared that it’s not the right thing. Even if you’re scared that it will cause problems. Even if you’re scared that it will burn your life to the ground, you say it and you say it loud. And then you go from there.”

3. This quate fills me with courage and I couldn’t agree more with it!

“When we follow our hearts, when we choose not to settle, it’s funny isn’t it? A weight lifts. The sun shines a little brighter and for a brief moment at least, we find a little peace.”

4. Richard is the quintessential father figure and the sub plots involving him have been some of my favorites.

“There’s an end to every storm. Once all the trees have been uprooted. Once all the houses have been ripped apart. The wind will hush. The clouds will part. The rain will stop. The sky will clear in an instant and only then, in those quiet moments after the storm, do we learn who was strong enough to survive it.”

5. When Cristina Yang decides to move to Minnesota and befriends the unlikely Dr. Thomas who inspires and  is inspired by her, his words become for me too a source of motivation.

“Breathe, Dr. Yang. Don’t be crass. You’re skulking. Women of your generation are graceless. It’s an affront to nature. Mediocre surgeons will see you and feel themselves wilting in your shadow. Do not shrink to console them. Do not look for friends here. You won’t find them. None of these people have the capacity to understand you. They never will. If you’re lucky, one day when you’re old and shriveled like me, you will find a young doctor with little regard for anything but their craft. And you’ll train them like I trained you. Until then, read a good book. You have greatness in you, Yang. Don’t disappoint.”

6. Few episodes have moved me as much as the this one which asks some rather difficult questions and leaves no choice but to scrutinize our lives and progress. Yang is an inspiration.

“Do you know who you are?

Do you know what’s happened to you?

Do you want to live this way?”

7.  This quote by yang has to be the best professional advice anyone could give me.

“Have some fire. Be unstoppable. Be a force of nature. Be better than anyone here, and don’t give a damn what anyone thinks. There are no teams here, no buddies. You’re on your own. Be on your own.”

 

8. When she finally leaves Grey’s Anatomy, how could she not go with a bang. Her parting words to Meredith are so powerful and feminist in the most subtle way. Every woman in a relationship with a man must follow this.

“I gotta go. You stay here. You are a gifted surgeon with an extraordinary mind. Don’t let what he wants eclipse what you need. He’s very dreamy, but he’s not the sun. You are.”

 

9. Meredith Grey has had her moments too. But this part where she wears her vulnerability proudly and demands what she wants from the man she love is epic.

Okay, here it is, your choice… it’s simple, her or me, and I’m sure she is really great. But Derek, I love you, in a really, really big pretend to like your taste in music, let you eat the last piece of cheesecake, hold a radio over my head outside your window, unfortunate way that makes me hate you, love you. So pick me, choose me, love me. 

“Okay, here it is, your choice… it’s simple, her or me, and I’m sure she is really great. But Derek, I love you, in a really, really big pretend to like your taste in music, let you eat the last piece of cheesecake, hold a radio over my head outside your window, unfortunate way that makes me hate you, love you. So pick me, choose me, love me.”

10. Self-reflection…

11. Grey’s introduced the concept of being ‘my person’ and changed the vocabulary of relationships for good. Now we all have one friend who is our “person”.

12. Carpe Diem all the way 🙂

13. When Meredith Grey makes a house from candles and proposes to Derek, it has to be the most romantic thing I have seen on television by far.

14.

              

One of my other most favorite romantic moments is when Preston reads his vows to Yang.

pinterest grey anatomy christina | Grey's Anatomy...Burke's vows to Christina. Love this | Quotes!

15.  This is the most important thing I have learnt from Grey’s Anatomy. In the end, it is simple. YOU HAVE TO SAVE YOURSELF.

Grey's Anatomy

4 thoughts on “My top 15 Grey’s Anatomy Quotes

  1. This is one of the best compilations of Grey’s quotes i have come across…
    11 is my favorite. It has definately changes our vocabularies!
    Amazing post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

