Introducing: The Silver Book

IMG_3659

Almost four years ago (a little more than four years actually) a very close friend gifted me this beautiful notebook. I loved it the minute I set my eyes on its silver, gleaming covers. I spent a few months just trying to decide what I am going to use this beautiful book for until I knew. I will write words that touch me, words that I read from books, online, and everywhere else on these bare, inviting pages.

IMG_3658

The other day as I was going through this book as I often do. I realized that this book is now almost full with quotes and words that mean a lot to me. And I wanted to continue this practice of collecting quotes, so I am introducing a new feature in this blog, The Silver Book.

IMG_3656

The Silver Book is all about learning to pause and record quotes that mean something, that reflect who you are or who you want to be. I will share the quotes that have filled up these pages over the years and re-discover what they meant to me, how I found them and how they shaped me.

I hope these quotes, touch you in some way too.

I start by sharing this quote that appeals deeply to the Wanderlust buried in me.

” We need to travel. If we don’t offer ourselves to the unknown, our senses dull. Our world becomes small and we lose our sense of wonder. Our eyes don’t lift to the horizon; our ears don’t hear the sounds around us. The edge is off our experiences, and we pass our days in a routine that is both comfortable and limiting. We wake up one day and find we have lost our dreams in order to protect our days. Don’t let yourself become one of those people. The fear of the unknown and the lure of the comfortable will conspire to keep you from taking the chances the traveler has to take. But if you take them, you will never regret you choice. To be sure, there will be moments of doubt when you stand alone on an empty road in an icy rain, or when you are ill with fever on a rented bed. But as the pains of the moment will come, so too will they fall away. In the end, you will be so much richer, so much stronger, so much clearer, so much happier and so much better a person, that all that risk and hardship will seem like nothing compared to the knowledge you have gained.”

– Kent Nerburn, Letters to my son

Leave a Reply

