Poem of the Day

seth_allyouwhosleeptonight1

I came home to my Mom’s last night and found this book laying on my bedside by one of the most inspiring Indian authors and poet Vikram Seth and felt compelled to share one of my favorite poems by him today. His flair for poetry is heartrendingly charming and he draws you into his verse gently only to leave you gasping on the end. This Poem “Sit” gives me goosebumps and almost feels like it’s directly addressing me, almost.

Sit

by Vikram Seth

Sit, drink your coffee here; your work can wait awhile.
You’re twenty-six, and still have some life ahead.
No need for wit; just talk vacuities, and I’ll
Reciprocate in kind, or laugh at you instead.

The world is too opaque, distressing and profound.
This twenty minutes’ rendezvous will make my day:
To sit here in the sun, with grackles all around,
Staring with beady eyes, and you two feet away

Leave a Reply

