Books I have Read: The 2013 List

2013

 

collage

 

  1. I am another you by Priya Kumar
  2. Stumbling Upon Happiness by Daniel Gilbert
  3. Birdsong by Sebastian Faulks
  4. Breakout Nations by Ruchir Sharma
  5. Strange Fits of Passion by Anita Shreve
  6. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
  7. If God was a Banker by Ravi Subramaniam
  8. The Five People you meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom
  9. My Friend Sancho by Amit Varma
  10. Lunatic in my Head by Anjum Hasan
  11. Apple Elusionist by Avrina Jos
  12. The Infinite Wisdom of Harriet Rose by Dianne Janney
  13. A Quiet belief in Angels by R.J. Ellory
  14. Moth Smoke by Mohsin Hamad
  15. The Family Way by Tony Parsons
  16. Cleopatra – A Life by Stacy Schiff
  17. The Moon on a stick by Valerie- Anne Baglietto
  18. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  19. Mating In Captivity by Esther Perel
  20. The Alchemy of Desire by Tarun Tejpal
  21. The Upside of Irrationality by Dan Ariely
  22. Love Poems of Rumi by Deepak Chopra
  23. The Krishna Key by Ashwin Sanghi
  24. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult
  25. Every Seventh Wave by Daniel Glattaeur
  26. On Writing by Stephen King
  27. New Life by Sharmishta Mohanty
  28. The Land of Invisible Women by Qanta Ahmad
  29. The African Diary by Bill Bryson
  30. Here and There by Bill Bryson
  31. The Tenth Circle by Jodi Picoult
  32. The Reluctant Fundamentalist by Mohsin Hamad
  33. Lessons in Forgetting by Anita Nair
  34. Sepia Leaves by Amandeep Sandhu
  35. My Lover’s Lover by Maggie O’ Farrell

 

2013 was a busy and eventful year but I managed to complete reading 35 books not to mention the dozen or so others which I abandoned after reading a few pages because life is too short to waste over a book that brings no pleasure or learning. I read some golden books this year that I am glad I did like #18 The Great Gatsby which unlike the usual pattern,  I read after seeing the movie and still felt the book was so much better like books always are;  #26 On Writing which was the holy manna for the writer in me. There were some lovely authors I read including #3 Sebastian Faulks, #10 Anjum Hasan, #13 R.J. Ellory and my favorite discovery of the year #14 and #32 Mohsin Hamad. I delighted in reading #29 and #30 Bill Bryson’s humorous travelogues as well. there were other books which were a complete waste of time, uninspired and uninspiring and I was angry at myself for reading them: If God was a Banker, Apple Elusionist and mostly The Moon on a Stick which was the worst book of the year.

I like to mix up the genres I read but I mostly enjoy fiction with a dash of non-fiction and a sprinkle of poetry. #2 Stumbling Upon happiness was a thoroughly engaging and informative read as well as #16 Cleopatra which had me obsessing with the Egyptian Enigma for the next few months ( okay i am still kind of obsessed)

I hope to read more books in 2014 and my goal one book a week which makes it 52 in the year.

2 thoughts on “Books I have Read: The 2013 List

Leave a Reply

