My Wild Night

Image

 

 

The sun rays streamed into the room, the red inside my eyelids lit up.

 

I struggled to open them; the heaviness was a residue of the night.

 

What a night it had been!

 

I could still feel his hunger,

 

His parched mouth moving on me.

 

They say the animal in you emerges only in the night

 

I endured it, silently.

 

I dragged myself to the bathroom mirror

 

The scars of last night bright red all over my body

 

Are these a mark of his territory?

 

After all I’m only one of many.

 

In my head play silently, my mother’s words to me

 

“Good night.

 

Sleep tight.

 

 

Don’t let the BED BUGS bite”

Leave a Reply

